IEPP – SURFACE DESIGN SHOW EVENT

img_4524 img_4526 img_4528 img_4529

 Surface Design Show is an event in London, United Kingdom, that focuses on materials and surfaces that takes place in the month of February, once every year. It is a networking event mostly for interior designers and architects, and an event that helps industries that specializes in materials to find more clients and showcase their portfolio. I went on the second evening, the evening of the Pecha-Kucha presentations. It is where multiple designers and architects present their work and processes in relation to materials, within twenty slides, which each slides have maximum twenty seconds. It was very inspirational hearing most of the presentations, which inspired me for my future projects, and how I can try to apply materials in more creative ways, giving more creative outputs.

There are also multiple stands, in which, each is for a company. While walking around, discoing new and innovative materials, I have also spoken to several designers and sellers, asking them about what they do, collecting their name cards and brochures. This helps to create future relationships with these sellers, and helps me reference the materials. Through networking, it allowed me to understand how I should behave in a semi-professional environment, makes me put myself forward and helps me get noticed, and acquire business relationships and opportunities.

Not only that the presentations were very inspirational, but so were the display of the presentations within the stands. While displaying their innovative materials, some designers also showed us how to use the products properly, and explained the properties and maintenance of their products.

Leave a comment